Connect with us

Shanghai Biennale Reveals Artist List for 13th Edition  –

Shanghai Biennale Reveals Artist List for 13th Edition  –


Shanghai Biennale Reveals Artist List for 13th Edition  –

Ahead of its opening later this month, the Shanghai Biennale has revealed the artist list for its 13th iteration. The exhibition will feature 64 artists—33 of which will present new commissions—at the Power Station of Art and other venues across the city.
Eschewing the traditional biennale format, this edition has unfolded over nine months, beginning in November with a five-day inaugural summit, followed by five months of presentations and programming. The theme of the main exhibition is “Bodies of Water,” and the show draws inspiration from the interdependent relationship between humans and our increasingly imperiled climate.

In a statement, chief curator Andrés Jaque said, “The 13th Shanghai Biennale advocates for the momentous contribution that art plays in the reconstruction of a world shaped by environmental, social and political distress. The Biennale is sensitive to the way art constitutes and infiltrates life itself, and to its capacities for bodied reparation, transformation and dissidence.”
It’s a fitting theme given the Power Station’s origins as a former coal-electric plant that spurred the industrialization of the Huangpu River. Additional venues include the Sunke Villa at the Columbia Circle—created from the drying of the region’s original wetland—and the former building of the Commercial Printing Factory.
The exhibition opens on April 17 and runs through July 25. The full artist list follows below.
Alberto BarayaAna MendietaAntoni MuntadasAstrida NeimanisAunty Rhonda Dixon-GrovenorClare BrittonAyesha Tan JonesCao Minghao and Chen JianjunCarlos CasasCarlos IrijalbaCecilia VicuñaCheng XinyiCooking Sections (Daniel Fernández Pascual and Alon Schwabe)Dai ChenlianDebajo del Sombrero (Andrés Fernández, José Manuel Egea, Miguel García, María Lapastora and Belén Sánchez)Diakron and Emil Rønn AndersenDiane Severin NguyenFeliciano CenturiónGuo FengyiHeather PhillipsonIbiye CampItziar OkarizJenna SutelaJoan JonasKarrabing Film CollectiveKyriaki GoniLiam YoungMichael WangNerea Calvillo (C+arquitectas)P Staff in collaboration with Basse StittgenPepe EspaliúPu YingweiReUnion X DMASRevital Cohen and Tuur Van BalenSun XiaoxingQiu ZhenZhao Kunfang and Huang SiyaoTabita RézaireTorkwase DysonVera FrenkelWORKac (Amale Andraos and Daniel Edward Wood)Zadie Xa and Benito Mayor VallejoZheng Mahler (Royce Ng and Daisy Bisenieks)

Source link

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


To Top